A week of changes

At the end of last week the NHS contacted me with a cancellation for an operation that I needed which would make it five weeks ahead of the original time. Recovery would be over the Easter week, so I wouldn’t need to take much time off work. It was a no brainer. I kept my training up right up to the morning of the op. Wednesday lunchtime saw me on the “slab” and pleased to be back home by about 4pm. They really don’t want you in any longer than necessary these days.

Thursday and Friday I had to do as little as possible, literally just walking to the toilet and the kettle. Saturday I was allowed to do very short gentle walks and then very gradually build up the length of the short walk. What I found really funny was that no one at any point told me what a short walk was. I am training for a race that is 183.4 miles long. Does that mean that a short walk is 10 miles? My girlfriend said that whilst it was all a case of perspective, 10 miles was a bit on the long side. lol

Sunday was a big day for us. We have been looking for a husky from a rescue charity for a while and one finally came up. We had been house checked, so Sunday was collection day. Meet Lyla, a beautiful, 10 months old with one blue eye and one brown.

IMG-20190422-WA0003

Lyla will be my new running companion as soon as I am allowed to run again in about two weeks.

Leave a comment