Lambs are stupid

Lambs! I have decided that lambs are now the stupidest animals on the planet. Running on Monday and Wednesday with my husky, Holly, I go through two particular fields. The first one has mature sheep in and Holly completely ignores them as that is the way I have trained her. The second field, however, has the ewes and lambs in it. We were minding our own business running along and were joined by a pair of lambs who wanted to play with Holly! I tried to explain that they would be breakfast, but they didn’t listen. I had a potty Holly, knowing that she shouldn’t “play” with them, but they wanted to and the ewe going demented that her lambs were in danger. I became wrapped in dog lead and looked more like a whirling dervish as I tried to run away from the lambs, keep Holly under control and spin to untangle the lead. Lambs are surprisingly fast and very persistent. I decided to call one “mint” and the other “sauce” 😉

Compared to that, the rest of the week was relatively uneventful, which was the idea. Good training and a few sessions, running and swimming, that were close to matching previous personal bests. This week is not about PBs as it is the second week in the cycle so building for the bigger push weeks.

My fuel intake; food to most people, but I now have such a set diet with so much protein that I feel like an eating machine. My food bill is vast due to all the high quality meat and fish! My body is coping well with the change and the results are obvious. I am achieving times and paces that I have not seen since 2014. Being five years older, the grand age of 53, and now on my second pacemaker, broke the first one, has taken its tole, but under the guidance of Benson of the Fitness Concierge, I am making progress back to those elusive times.

Leave a comment